ACTIVITIES‎ > ‎

Activities and Clubs

Millard North encourages students to participate in extracurricular activities.

 

ACTIVITIES (Application, Tryouts, or Class enrollment req.)


 Band (Concert, Symphonic, Wind Symphony, Marching and Jazz):

Sponsors: 
Ryan Placek (rlplacek@mpsomaha.org) & Craig Mathis (cdmathis@mpsomaha.org)    
Website:  
http://www.mnband.net/


Cheer Sponsors: (Varsity) Katie Etzelmiller(kaetzelmiller@mpsomaha.org) and Haley Ryan (hrryan@mpsomaha.org), (Junior Varsity Allison Bennett (albennett@mpsomaha.org) and (9th) Emily Hovdenes (ejhovdenes@mpsomaha.org)


 Choir (Voce, Cantori, Singers) Voce is designed for 9th graders, Cantori for 10-12 graders who did not audition into the Singers (Varsity), Singers for 10-12 graders who successfully auditioned into the group. 

Sponsor: Megan Tantillo (
mgtantillo@mpsomaha.org)


Color Guard:  Sponsor: Allison Goodman (amgoodman@mpsomaha.org)


Dance:  Sponsors: Andrea Feltz (ajfeltz@mpsomaha.org) & Mila O’Brien (meobrien@mpsomaha.org)


DebateStudents who participate in Debate become eligible for membership in Debate’s National Honorary Society.  Membership is required to participate in National Level Debate tournaments.  Sponsor:  Aarron Schurevich (awschurevich@mpsomaha.org)


DECA:  This club is designed to develop the leadership, career, and social skills of marketing students.  Besides district, state and national DECA events, the Millard North DECA Chapter is involved with social events and school/community activities.  Sponsors:  Allison Goodman (amgoodman@mpsomaha.org) & Elizabeth Swedlund (easwedlund@mpsomaha.org)


 
Dramatic Productions (Fall Musical, Winter Play, Spring Play, One-Acts)
Students prepare and present three full-length theater productions including a musical, a fall play, and spring play, and One-Act Play.  Any student may sign up to work on set construction, lighting, sound and stage crew activities.  Acting is open through auditions.  
Sponsors:  Ms.Williamson, (mswilliamson@mpsomaha.org ), Mr. Eledge (mseledge@mpsomaha.org), & Ms. Megan Tantillo (mgtantillo@mpsomaha.org)

Drama Information for the 2017 - 18 School Year  

Forensics:  Competitive speech and drama team. Forensics is a class and an extra-curricular activity, as students must be enrolled in the class to be part of the team.  We attend competitive speech tournaments and participation can lead to membership in the National Speech and Debate Association, a national honorary organization. Millard North has one of the largest teams in the state and one of the largest teams in the country.  Sponsor:  Ms. Sabrina Denney Bull (sdbull@mpsomaha.org)

Website:  http://mnhsforensics.net/


Journalism (Newspaper, Yearbook):  This group is for students interested in working on MNHS Yearbook or the MNHS Newspaper and are enrolled in the Yearbook or Journalism class.   In addition to class work, students work on publications before and after school.  Sponsor: Ms. Sarah Crotzer (sacrotzer@mpsomaha.org )


Mustang Mentoring Program (MMP):  Mentors meet with a small group of freshmen every Friday during Mustang Time.  They also meet once a week before school on Monday mornings to prepare for the mentoring times.  MMP is also a leadership development program for upperclassmen with retreats and events throughout the year to build these skills.  Sponsors:  Mr. Loel Schettler (lrschettler@mpsomaha.org) & Mrs. Jodi Therkelsen (jatherke@mpsomaha.org)



National Honor Society:  
Students may apply junior or senior year.  The selection of members is done every October.  Members meet monthly.  Volunteerism is the main focus during the junior year with leadership being the focus senior year. 

Sponsors:  Mrs. Kari Murphy (
krmurphy@mpsomaha.org
) & Kelly Welsh (kawelsh@mpsomaha.org)

Orchestra/Strings:  (Philharmonic, Symphony) These students give performances at concerts throughout the school year.  Students must be enrolled in Orchestra classes. 

Sponsor:  Debbie Martinez (
djmartin@mpsomaha.org)  
Website:  http://mnhsorch.com/


Show Choir:  Students who successfully audition into show choir must be in one of the choirs. 

Sponsor:  Megan Tantillo (mgtantillo@mpsomaha.org)
Website:  http://www.millardnorthshowchoirs.org/

  Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica  - Spanish Honor Society
Students must apply junior or senior year.  The selection of members is done every September.  Members meet monthly and perform a variety of service to the community and Spanish speaking world.  The purpose of Spanish National Honor Society is to recognize high achievement in Spanish and to promote continuity of interest in Hispanic studies.
Sponsor: Mrs. Theresa Jensen (tmjensen@mpsomaha.org)

Website:  https://sites.google.com/a/mpsomaha.org/tmjensen/SHH-members



CLUBS (Open to all)


 Amnesty International:
aMNesty focuses on human rights and our response to encourage the dignity, respect, safety, and freedom of all people, both locally and globally. We will meet once a week to become informed on human rights violations and successes around the world, and to plan systematic responses to educate and inform the rest of the student body. We also want to become a force for positive change in our world through community service. All students are welcome. 

Sponsor:  Mrs. Betzold (rrbetzold@mpsomaha.org)


 

AP Environmental Science Club:  Only AP Environmental Science students previously or currently enrolled.  

Sponsor: Mr. Bob Yakus (ryakus@mpsomaha.org)


 Broadcast Club:  
Students produce original television programs for the school.  All students interested in trying out for an anchor position or a production technical position as a junior or senior must spend a year working as a technical assistant, including making one school news video per quarter. 

Sponsor:  Mr. Matt Eledge (mseledge@mpsomaha.org) & Mr. Michael McCauley (mjmccauley@mpsomaha.org)

  Chemistry Club:  

An American Chemical Society (ACS) accredited club open to anyone interested in chemistry, ACS provides our club with activities, world wide projects and online lecture events to be involved in. 
Sponsor: Leah Zohner (lczohner@mpsomaha.org)

Chess Club: Meets to practice, learn, and improve abilities in the most demanding board game--chess.  Sponsor:  Mr. Jim Stromberg (jtstromberg@mpsomaha.org)

 Diversity Club: Diversity Club celebrates all forms of diversity:  ethnicity, faith, ability, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, social standing and appearance.  We believe that all people should be treated with respect and dignity and work for social justice in our school and larger community hoping to reduce prejudice and discrimination.  We plan social and service activities including Mix It Up @ Lunch & Diversity Week.  We invite all students who want to change in the world.    Sponsor: Ms. Holly Carlson (hacarlson@mpsomaha.org)


 FCCLA:  
A national student organization helping young men and women become strong leaders in families, careers and the community.  As a member of the Family, Career, Community Leaders of America organization, you will plan and participate in community service projects, explore career opportunities and demonstrate leadership skills. 

Sponsors: Ms. Glesne (jaglesne@mpsomaha.org)



Gamers Club:  Meets on Fridays from 3:30 - 5:30 in room 1155.  Sponsor: Mrs. Bodwin Holmes (blholmes@mpsomaha.org)



 History Club
Meets to study a historical time period, place, culture or event. Participate in local activities including a historical tour of Omaha. As a culminating activity, we visit an area the first week of June; in the past, members have visited Santa Fe, Boston, NYC, New Orleans.

Sponsor:  Mrs. Edmundson (mdedmundson@mpsomaha.org )


HOSA
This club is an activity designed to develop knowledge, skill and leadership development for students who have an interest in health and medicine.   Students will have the opportunity to participate in various workshops, social events, school/ community activities as well as state and national leadership competitions. 

Sponsors:  Steve Lerner 
(sjlerner@mpsomaha.org) & Christina Preuss (clpreuss@mpsomaha.org)

Junior Class Board: This board plans Prom including theme, decorations & invitations. Also plans other junior class events.   Sponsor: Ms. Sarah Martin (smmartin@mpsomaha.org), Mr. Jason Pitt (jdpitt@mpsomaha.org)

Language Clubs (German, Latin):  Club sponsors monthly activities of a cultural nature.  Members are offered a mixture of cultural and social activities that are educational in nature.  Open to all world language students.  Sponsors: German-Ms. Brennan (wmbrennan@mpsomaha.org); Latin- Ms. Kolander (jkolander@mpsomaha.org)


 Math Club:  
Members explore a topic or strategy in depth, using Creative Problem Solving in School Mathematics, practice for contests, using non-routine problems from Mathematical Olympiads Contest Problems for UNL Math Day or High School Competitions.   

Sponsor:  Mr. Harding (ajharding@mpsomaha.org)

Robotics Club:  Robotics Club is a hands-on interactive team based club that allows students to build, program, and compete while facilitating engineering skills.  We meet in room 1211 in the Industrial Technology hallway.  Sponsor: Mr. Jeffrey Brady (jrbrady@mpsomaha.org)

Science Olympiad Team:  Science Olympiad is a multi-faceted science competition with an Olympic-like format.  Students can compete in events ranging from cell biology to building robotic arms.  Millard North has a team that competes at the state level.  This is a spring activity that students on the team commit to for about 3 months.  It is a competitive event and space on the team is limited.  

Sponsor:  Mr. Phil Manley (prmanley@mpsomaha.org)


Senior Class Board: This is a student leadership organization.  Our main responsibilities include selection of the class motto and graduation announcements, design of the class t-shirt, the senior video, the senior banquet, superlatives, senior gift and service opportunities.   

Sponsor:  Mr. Josh Lingenfelter (jalingenfelter@mpsomaha.org)


Sparkle Cheer:  Sparkle cheer is a fun cheerleading group that includes special education students, Varsity and JV Cheerleaders.  We support MNHS at games and other events.  Sponsor:  Mrs. Amanda Abbey (alabbey@mpsomaha.org), Ms. Nicole Torralbas (natorralbas@mpsomaha.org),  Ms. Barb Moore(bgmoore@mpsomaha.org), and Mrs. Tricia Rohde (tjrohde@mpsomaha.org)



Student Council:  Promotes the development of student leaders.  Applications are required.  Members of Student Council Plan homecoming and promote school spirit.  

Sponsors:  Emily Janda (emjanda@mpsomaha.org) and Mr. Hewitt (mwhewitt@mpsomaha.org)



SkillsUSA:   Industrial Technology Club is designed to work with students interested in vocational trades. SkillsUSA  helps develop team efforts, career goals and leadership skills by attending Leadership Conferences, State and possibly National Competitions. 

Sponsor:  Mr.Greg Dunn (
gldunn@mpsomaha.org )

 Volunteers in Action (VIA):   
Members volunteer in the community after school and on weekends.  Activities include the Haunted House for Habitat for Humanity, tutoring and Muscular Dystrophy Camp, elementary school carnivals & more. 
Sponsor:  Mr. Ott (lott@mpsomaha.org )

 Writers' Club:  Open to all Millard North High School students.  It is an opportunity to connect with students who write creatively.  Club activities vary and often include a prompt that everyone writes about.  The club meets in room 2135 twice a month.  Sponsor:  Ms. Chris Carroll (cmcarroll@mpsomaha.org)


Millard North supports the initiative of students who wish to propose an idea that would be approved as a Student-Led Group. Applications for a Student-Led Group can be picked up in the Administration Office and returned before October 1st of the current school year.

Comments